“It feels boring!”

It was Sunday afternoon, and we were practicing with a new practice partner. We were feeling lazy, and the music was quite light.

I wanted to increase the energy, so I put on some Sexteto Milonguero. I find the energy in the music makes me feel and dance in more energetic way.

Almost immediately my practice partner told me that she was feeling less comfortable, I was getting tense, I was no longer the relaxed Mikko I am usually am. So, I started to investigate this, concentrating more in the control of my movement and try to connect more with my partner.

After that change, I immediately blurted out: “It feels boring!” My partner started laughing. Although I was quite open about my feelings, on the surface the comment was not very flattering.

I explained to my partner that I do not see “boring” necessarily as a bad thing.
Just like eating a big bag of candy can make me “feel good” momentarily, it will make me feel bad later. Not eating candy can feel “boring”, as comparison, but it may still be better choice.

It seemed that my attention had been completely been caught by the energetic music. It felt really good to dance to this. But at the same time, I had lost attention which is required to control the movement. More so, I had lost the connection with my partner.

About Mikko

A man hopelessly bitten by the argentine tango bug.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “It feels boring!”

  1. jantango says:

    I like this definition of connection: Connection occurs when the exchange of energy between two people flows without reservation. Connection can occur on several different levels — emotionally, mentally, or spiritually — souls vibrating at the same frequency. (Cherie Carter-Scott)

Leave a Reply

