You Don’t Choose Tango, Tango Chooses You

I was having a discussion in a party with somebody who does not dance. My discussion partner commented that they too, when they will be more settled in their life, and thus be less busy, will take up a new hobby, such as tango. I was immediately reminded by the quote in the title.

Now that I think about it, I have not seen anybody to succeed in learning tango that way. It takes so much time, energy and money to learn to dance tango that pure decision is not enough. You just get hooked, and next thing you know you are organizing your life around tango, not vice versa.

When people hear how much time, energy and money I invest in dancing, first thing people often comment is that I must have some kind of goal, such as participating in competitions etc.

They are very surprised when they hear that I don’t have any such conscious goals. (Unconscious? Probably.) This quote below sums up my approach well.

If you don’t have a clue what you’re doing, then you must be going in a new direction.
— Akram Khan

About Mikko

A man hopelessly bitten by the argentine tango bug.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

